Buy It, Borrow It, or Bag It: This May Seem Crazy by Abigail Breslin

Breslin    JSYK…the first thing I have to say about This May Seem Crazy by Abigail Breslin is that I am well-aware I am not her target audience. As a 43-year-old mother of two grown sons, I am about as far away from Breslin’s teen girl readership as one can possibly get. Still, I was given a signed copy of the book and because I am the kind of person who tends to read a little of everything and likes to keep up with what kids think and feel, I decided to give it a read. It is interesting to note that I actually learned a couple of things along the way.

From what I understand, Breslin is an avid blogger and her book definitely reads like a cross between a one-on-one conversation with a girlfriend and an extended diary entry. She shares relationship advice with young girls peppered with personal anecdotes of situations gone wrong and what she has learned from it. This book is not particularly deep, does not include a faith component and is at times hard to follow. It is full of acronyms (many of which I had to look up), OMG-type interjections, rhetorical questions and stream-of-consciousness storytelling. I am not going to lie, I did get a headache at one point, but that’s OK…If I were 15-years-old chances are I would understand everything she said and how she said it would make perfect sense to me. Since I am not, I won’t pretend that it did.

Evidently, Breslin is an avid blogger and her book certainly reads like a cross between a one-on-one conversation and an extended diary entry. There are a lot of acronyms (many of which I had to look up LOL), plenty of OMG-type interjections and stream of consciousness storytelling. I have to assume if I were 15-years-old, everything she said and how she said it would make perfect sense to me, but since I’m not, I won’t pretend that it did.

The book focuses on relationships with guys, girlfriends and all that she has learned from both. It is scattered, a bit confusing and at least once I had to wonder where her mother was, but I don’t want to presume she wasn’t around. If you have a daughter who is a fan of Breslin’s and has wondered what it’s like to be friends with her, this book is about as close as she is going to get, but I would not make a huge investment in what is essentially a shallow read. Borrow it and enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

Leave a Reply

