Tingle Tuesday: Who am I to write about ASMR?

Me ASMR    Today I finally saw an advanced copy of The Idiot’s Guide to ASMR. I can’t begin to tell you how excited I was to see the finished product and as I turned the pages I could not believe that I actually wrote it! (Yes, BTW that is me with dirty hair, sweats and no makeup!) As luck would have it, a certain Russell Brand video came out today as well and although I expected it to be an incendiary look into the ASMR phenomenon, I have to admit that he made a lot of really good points. In fact, I was surprised to hear him make some comments that I actually covered in the book. (Talk about feeling validated, even if by a comedian!)

So tonight, I finally posted a selfie of me reading the book to an ASMR Facebook page and was pleased to hear from people asking if the book was real, how much and where could they get it. One user point blank asked me my credentials for writing such a thing (in a nice way of course) and offered his thoughts on what kind of book was needed by the community.

I was so moved by this forthrightness that I decided it might be worth it to state my qualifications here on my blog so that if there are any questions about who I am and where I get off writing about ASMR, this can be addressed prior to publication.

First, let me tell you who I am not. I am not an ASMRtist, nor am I a doctor. I am a tingle head, the same as many of you, but I spent eight years in the healthcare industry and in my writing career have been charged with researching and reporting on a number of medical practices, procedures and studies. I have a bachelor’s degree in Professional Writing and a Master’s in education from the oldest women’s college in the State of Indiana and in my spare time, I have been known to sing in a rock band. I am a spiritual person but I am not a religious fanatic. (I have a feature on this blog called Confessions of a Cynical Catholic, if that tells you anything so don’t let the religious titles of my books fool you.) I believe that any subject worth exploring should be done so from a multidisciplinary approach and I sought out advice from Dr. Craig Richard who runs the ASMR University Website and was a tremendous help when it came to fact checking my science during the writing process. (In fact, he gave me the great compliment of calling it the ASMR Bible.)

While I am pleased to be the first person to write about ASMR for a major publisher, I am well aware that as science catches up with the phenomenon, my information may be discounted or improved upon. If I have done anything right in this book, it is to open the door to further investigation, to offer some REAL information beyond the “tingle stories” and provide some theories about what ASMR is, where it comes from, has anyone known about it before now? Is it only a neurological thing? Are the other senses involved? Why has the YouTube community become so popular? Real life ASMR and how it affects us, etc. I spent two SOLID months writing this book and let me assure you, it took its toll on me, but I am VERY proud of the work I have done and I hope everyone else likes it too as they learn a little bit more about this physiological phenomenon that affects us.

Until next time…Tingle On!

Julie

https://www.facebook.com/authorjulieyoung

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Tingle Tuesday (ASMR)

Leave a Reply

