Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It: Jackie, Ethel and Joan The Women of Camelot by J. Randy Taraborelli

Jackie-Ethele-Joan    I must be on a Kennedy kick at the moment or I am just now getting around to borrowing all of those $30 hardcover books I couldn’t afford when they first came out. In this case, I saw the made-for-TV-movie first and decided it would actually be worth a read…someday. I guess someday arrived because I checked it out of the library on my iPad and read it while running on my treadmill.

Now, I am not a huge fan of Taraborelli. There is something “tabloidy” about this guy and I tend to shy away from people who write a lot of unauthorized biographies on a wide variety of notables without having real expertise in any particular vein. I mean, if he only wrote about politicos, fine…but he doesn’t. He writes about everyone and that strikes me as unseemly. That being said, the one thing I really liked about this book is the fact that it was easy to read, did not go into a lot of minute detail and this book did give me some interesting insight into Joan and Ethel Kennedy who I really didn’t know a lot about.

Poor Ethel really wanted the big prize. It’s obvious that she really wanted to be First Lady and would have done anything to get there. Joan just wanted to be loved and I don’t quite understand what it was about her that seemed to turn off Ted Kennedy. Though it isn’t addressed, I get the feeling that Joan was the kind of girl Teddy was “supposed” to marry but as we have seen time and time again, those the established order feel we “ought” to marry are not necessarily the people we “should” marry.

Taraborelli certainly combed through all of the available information in search of content that would offer a well-rounded look into the merry wives of Camelot, but true to form he adds plenty of snark. If you have seen the movie, check it out, if the Kennedys aren’t your thing, you aren’t missing much. Borrow it if you need something to keep you occupied on vacation.

2 Comments

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

2 responses to “Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It: Jackie, Ethel and Joan The Women of Camelot by J. Randy Taraborelli

  1. Thank you for this! I loved reading it. (No snark intended. 🙂

    • OMG! Never in a MILLION years did I think you, Sir, would actually read this post. First of all, thank you for your very kind comment. I want you to know that I do HAVE your epic book on Michael Jackson and used it as a tremendous resource while writing the manuscript for what will be (when published) the Indiana state Youth Biography on Michael- From Local to Legendary. I want to make clear you are VERY VERY thorough in your research and I applaud you for that. After re-reading my post, I now wonder if my own work does not fall into the same category…I write fiction, non fiction, history, religion, instructional…maybe being a writer IS its own vein and we don’t have to be an expert in any one thing! 🙂 I would never have thought of that if not for your reaching out, so consider this my abject, pleading apology, my mea culpa and would you permit me to contact you via e-mail to express my private regrets? LOL

Leave a Reply

