Buy It, Borrow It, or Bag It: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone_Girl_(Flynn_novel)OK, I never claimed to be speedy at reading hot best-selling novels that are eventually made into movies during which Ben Affleck shows us his “full monty.” However, at the suggestion of my good friend and fellow author Sherri Wood Emmons, I finally got around to picking this one up…

While I assume that most of my BBB readers have read this book or seen the movie at this point, I don’t want to give any spoilers just in case. This book has a “Sixth Sense” quality to it. Remember that movie? If you were lucky enough to see it without anyone telling you everything about it, you were pleasantly surprised by the twist at the end. This book is is very similar. You spend a significant amount of the test coming up with your personal theories about the overarching mystery without every considering a more disturbing possibility than you ever thought imaginable. What begins as a seemingly open and shut thriller case, suddenly takes a strange turn into a complex character that is either brilliant or completely psychotic…and it’s a little hard to tell which.

I have never read Flynn’s work before and I don’t know that I will again. I have learned (the hard way) that sometimes when a writer comes up with something incredibly profound, it’s hard to live up to that same expectation every time. Still, kudos to her on this one. If you haven’t read it, I encourage you to, but since enough time has passed, feel free to borrow it instead of buy it. It should be easily available at the library at this point…but do read it. Then check out the movie which I am pleased to say follows the storyline very well. Be prepared to finish feeling a little perplexed by the ending and let me know what you thought of it. I’m still trying to figure out what happened to the characters after the chapters ended.

Leave a comment

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

Leave a Reply

