Buy It, Borrow It, or Bag It: The secret History of Wonder Woman by Jill Lepore

Wonder WomanOh, I wanted to like this book…I really did. I am a huge Wonder Woman fan but I guess I expected something different and sadly, this book didn’t work for me.

The Secret Life of Wonder Woman offers a glimpse into the life of the man who created her and what you may not know about the most popular female super hero of all time. I am not sure why it didn’t gel with me but I think it is because the writing focused on the creator, tried to infuse some comic book references, and then interspersed visuals and I would have preferred a straight biography. I couldn’t get past the first 100 pages and I have a policy that if I am struggling that hard at that  point, why bother?

I looked up the reviews for this book online and they were overwhelmingly positive but I worry about any book that feels compelled to mention that many reviews in their description. Reader reviews are fairly kind as well but note it is more of a biography of the creator Marston rather than a look into the evolution of Wonder Woman. Use your best judgement, but in my opinion…borrow it first, but don’t be surprised if you end up “bagging” it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

Leave a Reply

