Buy It, Borrow It, or Bag It: UnPHILtered by Phil Robertson

PhilI willingly admit that when I saw the title of this book, I was nervous and was not sure I wanted to read it. I assumed that it would be either an unapologetic tome of Phil’s philosophies on life (including some rants that I did not agree with) or it would disappoint. In the end, I found a book that was more or less a collection of non-fiction essays that I appreciated. Moreover…I found that the original Duck Commander made me think.

Don’t get me wrong…I understand people who were furious about the things Robertson said last year and although I do not agree with him whatsoever regarding the things that he said, I do believe that in his home, he had the right to say them. I also believe that the journalist had the right to publish them. I also believe that A&E could do what they wanted to do and so on…and I am beyond glad that someone finally had the good sense to say, “We are not going to remove some guy permanently from a TV show for not being PC in an interview.” (My opinion on this would be a LOT different if he had said those things on the show, during a taping…that’s a whole different thing.)

Phil is not a stupid guy. He often talks about being a C+ man, but he’s wise. He observes. He doesn’t let his mind fill with a lot of chatter and his perspective is an interesting one and what really shocks me is how much I agree with him on. Logic would dictate that I wouldn’t. Like me, Phil comes across as a guy tired of the whole system and longs for a day when the country can get its act together from both sides and he’s not afraid to say it.

Look, I am a fan of the show. I like watching a show about a family who isn’t afraid to be faithful. It’s nice to see a family have a lot of good, clean fun, pick on each other in a good-natured way…and pray at the end of the day…but I am not going to buy a duck call or go out and wear cammo. Reading their books is something I can do to support the show. It’s not for everyone. I would say Buy this book if you are a fan of the show, Borrow it if you are curious, but if you have already made up your mind about this guy, don’t bother.

Leave a comment

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

Leave a Reply

