Return of Buy It, Borrow It, or Bag It: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes: Firestorm

dawn   Dawn of the Planet of the Apes: Firestorm by Greg Keys is a tie-in novel to the blockbuster movie that was released last summer and due to other commitments, I have not had time to review it for this blog until now. (At least the movie was recently released on Blu-ray making my timing appropriate. LOL)

I have some mixed feelings about this book. First: I will share the likes: I really liked the fact that this book is not a direct novelization of the movie but rather more of a bridge from “Rise” to “Dawn” illustrating what happened after the Simian Flu outbreak and offering readers a look into what makes Koba…well, Koba. If you happened to see the promotional videos that were created in preparation for the movie, those also told the story of what happened in the interim…so this book is similar in that respect.

That being said…I am not much of a sci-fi reader and I struggle a lot with books that are told from two different points of view (Sorry, Dan Brown) so while I liked the psychology of the story, some of the back and forth bothered me. I do recommend that fans of the POTA series buy it because it is a companion piece and worth the read. However, if you are expecting more of a direct novelization, bag it.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

Leave a Reply

