Tingle Tuesday: General Update and Thank Yous

ASMR    Hey Everyone!

I am so sorry that I have been so bad at posting (I say that every time though, don’t I?) but I have been hard at work on the edits for “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to ASMR” and I cannot wait to see this book in print! I hope you all will enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it and I am in hopes that it will answer some questions, spark a few major scientific studies and help everyone learn a lot more about this phenomenon so many of us experience!

I won’t lie, it has been a LOT of hard work and for my efforts, I managed to give myself an ulcer. How’s that for irony? I wrote a book about relaxation and gave myself an ulcer! But I am on meds, trying to take it easy and still deliver the manuscript on time! I think it is scheduled for publication in Spring of 2015. (As we get closer to the actual date, I will of course let you all know what’s going on.)

So many people have been so helpful in the writing of this book and I cannot thank them enough. There was simply not enough room in the book to acknowledge everyone I wanted to, so I want to thank my family for putting up with me as I buried myself in my office and talked about tingles morning, noon and night. I want to thank all of my friends who politely asked “How is the book going?” and probably regretted that question when I launched into my diatribe. I want to thank Dr. Craig Richard who kindly read over a lot of the chapters and offered his insight into my scientific narrative. Even though I have a bit of a medical background, I can’t thank him enough for the extra set of eyes. I also need to thank Ilse Blansrt for spending hours on the phone with me and becoming like a soul sister to me, Heather Feather for generously answering so many questions, Olivia Kissper for reaching out and contributing her thoughts to the book, and every tingle head who sent me personal messages and said thank you for doing this. I hope that throughout these 270 pages you learn far more than you ever knew before about this phenomenon: what it is, why it seems to work, what is going on in the body at the time of the tingles, why certain things are so darned appealing to us, and how we can use ASMR techniques in our every day lives.

I promise to try and update a little more regularly now that I am coming to the end of the writing portion of this project and I will start offering some thoughts on some of my favorite ASMRtists in the near future and where I think that this art form can go from here. Until next time…tingle on!

Julie

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Tingle Tuesday (ASMR)

Leave a Reply

