Once Upon A Time…I was a Teenager

Once upon a time, I was a teenager:

I had Mousy hair,

Crooked teeth,

A big nose,

Freckles,

An overdeveloped mind

And an underdeveloped body.

I was picked on

I was put down

I was bullied

I was called names

I didn’t fit in

I didn’t run with the in-crowd

I lacked self-esteem

I lacked self-confidence

I lacked snappy comebacks when I needed them the most.

I doubted my own greatness

I marched to a different beat

But it was a tune no one else could hear

I was dumped

I was degraded

I was ugly

I had bad hair days

I wasn’t very stylish

I was confused

I was scared

I was frustrated

I was lonely

I felt no one understood me

I felt no one cared

I felt no one would listen

I felt like it was the end of the world.

I felt like those days would last forever.

Once upon a time, I was a teenager.

The toughest 2,190 days of my life

But I survived it.

Trust me, you will too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

