Tingle Tuesday: One Chapter Down

asmr Hey Everyone!

The ASMR book is going well and I am connecting with some amazing people who are granting me killer interviews and giving me some unique insight into this phenomenon. Later this week, I will be speaking with Dr. Richard at the ASMR University. Dr. Richard has recently published his origin theory on ASMR and I am eager to talk with him about it and clarify a few points.

One of the hardest parts about writing on ASMR is that even though there are some concrete facts about what it entails, is that anything “scientific” is more or less conjecture. I feel that we are born with an inherent desire to be soothed and we rely on our mothers (primarily) for that comfort, but I don’t know to what extent that it results in an ASMR experience. Personally, I did not get the tingles from listening to my mother. I was essentially ASMR immune to the sound of her voice, but there were other people who could say or do the same things that she did and I would relax immediately. Weird huh?

I would be very curious in finding out if there is a typical age that the “tingles” emerge in those who have experienced ASMR from a young age. I have heard more than one person refer to middle school which makes me wonder if ASMR heightens with the onset of puberty. (But again, I am only guessing.) I have also recently began to wonder if ASMR is something that can be trained and developed like body building.

Ever since I discovered ASMR videos on the web, I have noticed that I have a lot more triggers than I “thought” I did but I don’t know if that is because I find the specific action soothing or if it is the person’s voice. I can say though that I am getting better at finding videos that tend to work and to put myself in the right state of mind to encourage the ASMR experience to occur. I wonder if anyone else has noticed that?

Well I’ve rambled enough for one week. Remember, if you are a tingle head or ASMRtist who is interested in helping out with this project, please drop me a comment and let me know how to get in touch with you. In the mean time, keep rocking’

Julie

Leave a comment

Filed under Tingle Tuesday (ASMR)

Leave a Reply

