Wacky Wednesday- Naptown Nostalgia

Godfathers_graphic     Remember Godfather’s Pizza? It seemed like I was there every Friday night with my family at the East Washington Street location where we ordered a large sausage for my brother and myself and my parents got a large half mushroom/half green pepper pie. (This was clearly before my mother’s stomach revolted on her with Chron’s disease.) If memory serves, we weren’t alone. I can recall times when the line for pizza stretched all the way out the door.

I loved everything about that place. I always wanted to sit at the tables that were two steps up from the rest of the restaurant and along the perimeter and I used to beg my dad for $.50 so that I could play some songs on the jukebox. Sometimes we would even play video games while we waited for our pizza, but this was long before Chuck E. Cheese overwhelmed everyone with gaming options. Godfathers only had three: a pinball machine, Defender and Ms. PacMan.

When I think about it, I can still remember the commercials. There was some Al Capone Gangster looking guy wearing a pin stripe suit who used to tell you that he could make you a pizza that you couldn’t refuse. My family even had the special plastic coke containers that we carted back each week so that we could get our free refill. Ah…the good old days.

The other day, my better half came home from work with a cardboard pizza box bearing the two words I had not seen in forever: Godfather’s Pizza. The logo no longer looked like it had been hit with a Tommy Gun, but the pizza still tasted as good as I remembered.

“Where did you find it?” I wanted to know.

He shrugged. “They sell it at some gas station I pass on the way home.”

I stopped dead in my tracks. My beloved Godfather’s had been reduced to gas station fare? It seemed like a cruel trick of nature and I seriously contemplated a protest. However, sometimes it’s best to be happy with the pizza in your hand rather than long for things to go back to the way they used to be.

Needless to say the pie was gone in a 1/2 hour.

Leave a comment

Filed under Naptown Nostalgia

Leave a Reply

