July Column for Glo Magazine- Decisions, Decisions

Rapunzel       Although I am a decisive woman, I hate to make decisions. Oh, I can handle simple things like what to have for dinner, what outfit to wear or determining which show to watch on TV, but choosing a paint color? Picking a fabric? Determining who is the greatest rock drummer of all time when John Bonham, Keith Moon and Neil Peart are among the semi-finalists? Forget it, I can’t do it. Whenever the options seem too vast or there are both pro and con arguments for each, I become racked with uncertainty and usually avoid making a choice altogether.

Never was this more apparent than when I started planning my recent wedding. One peek into a bridal magazine the size of War and Peace and I knew I was in trouble. The options were mindboggling. How in the world was I supposed to choose one dress out of 3,000? Did I want to carry roses or lilies? Did I prefer a nosegay, cascading shower, or a “tussy mussy” bouquet? (I’m still not sure what that last one is exactly, but trust me it’s one of 19 options for bridal floral designs.)

white-bridal-bouquet-roses-hydrangeas-calla-lilies-real-touch-silk-wedding-flowers-vintage-lace-base            Don’t get me wrong. I may not know if I am a trendy or traditional bride, but I know sensory overload when I see it. I had no desire to lose my mind over centerpieces, tablecloths, hideous bridesmaids dresses, or who should be invited to the main event. I knew I had to do something to get the selections down to a reasonable number unless I planned to remain single for the rest of my natural life.

Hence, the Disney Fairytale Wedding. No, I am not a Disney freak (no more or less so than the average person) but I knew it would be a top-notch affair and once I set the budget, the options were laid out in front of me. I had a choice of three venues, (one of which was the last hotel I stayed at with my mother making this a no-brainer,) six bouquet options and 12 musical selections of which I was supposed to choose three. To make this even easier, they had the tunes categorized based on bridal party entrance, bride and recessional. Can’t beat that!

grand-floridian-hotel-001            It took less than 20 minutes to plan the whole thing. (The wedding coordinator was most impressed.) I’m not kidding when I say that planning the wedding was a piece of cake compared to scoring reservations at the Be Our Guest Restaurant or finding a Fast Pass to meet the Frozen princesses. Word to the wise: Anna and Elsa’s Fast Passes are booked six months in advance and the stand-by line is roughly five hours…it’s best to “let it go.” (Pun intended.)

I don’t know if the wedding gods took pity on me or if they just wanted to save everyone’s sanity, but somehow I not only managed to get the Rapunzel dress of my dreams on sale (it was a sample), I also found a great pair of white shoes on a clearance rack in the middle of February and I wrote my wedding vows inside of five minutes thanks in part to the lyrical talents of Robert Plant, Freddie Mercury and Jon Bon Jovi.

When I am not overwhelmed by choices, I am actually quite speedy in my decision-making process. That being said, when I do make up my mind about something, that’s what I want. I don’t tend to waiver on my decision and I don’t like being offered alternatives. Do not show me something else. Do not tell me that it’s no longer available and don’t try to offer me something “similar.” If I have gone to all the trouble of wasting time and brain cells on an issue, that’s what I want. Don’t try and talk me out of it. Trust me, if I start second guessing myself…nothing will get accomplished.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Glo Magazine

Leave a Reply

