Author Spotlight- Debbie Manber Kupfer author of P.A.W.S.

Debbie Manber Kupfer is today’s author spotlight and I am really happy to introduce her to my friend, readers and fans! Her latest book P.A.W.S. is burning up the Amazon charts and getting some amazing reviews! I am thrilled to give Debbie a chance to share a little about herself with us and hope that everyone has a chance to check her out soon!

PAWS      P.A.W.S. (Rocking Horse Publishing ISBN-10: 0989568504, ISBN-13: 978-0989568500)

1. Tell our audience a little about yourself: I grew up in London, and lived in Israel and New York, before finally moving to St. Louis. I have a husband, two kids, and a very opinionated feline. I get through my days by drinking a lot of tea (hot, strong and with milk) and the occasional piece of dark chocolate.

 2. Tell us a little about your latest release: P.A.W.S. is the story of Miri, a young girl who receives a silver cat charm from her grandmother on the day before she dies. The charm holds the family secret that Miri will only discover three years later after she is bullied by a bunch of mean girls at a posh private boarding school near St. Louis. After this Miri’s life becomes a lot more interesting! In addition to P.A.W.S. I recently had a story published in an anthology Fauxpocalypse. My Fauxpocalypse story “Vodka and Watermelons” is based on some of my true life experiences when I was living in Jerusalem.

3. What was the inspiration behind the story? The story of P.A.W.S. came to me in a flash in October 2012. I clearly saw Miri receiving her charm from her omama and knew instantly what it meant. I told my story to my daughter (a writer herself), and she encouraged me to write it.

4. How long did it take you to write it? I wrote the first draft of P.A.W.S. during National Novel Writing Month in November 2012. I then spent months editing and rewriting P.A.W.S.

Debbie      5. How long did it take you to find your publisher/agent? I have been writing my whole life, but had never shown any of my work to anyone before, so it was with a huge amount of trepidation that I took the prologue of P.A.W.S. to the writer’s group at All On The Same Page. It was the best thing I ever could have done, because there I met Robin Tidwell of Rocking Horse Publishing, and the rest as we like to say is history.

6. How are you marketing the book? I like to connect with my readers on Facebook, Twitter and on my blog. I’ve also done a few local appearances and plan more in the future.

 7. Did you always know you wanted to write? I’ve always written ever since I was a kid. It’s how I best express myself.

8. Do you have a traditional “day job” or are you a full time writer? When I’m not writing fiction, I write word and logic puzzles for magazines and my puzzle blog – Paws4Puzzles.

9. Who are some of your favorite authors? Absolutely favorite is Douglas Adams, closely followed by J.K. Rowling and Terry Pratchett.

10. What’s next for you? I’m at the editing stage of Argentum, the next in the P.A.W.S. series. In addition I have stories accepted to three anthologies that are due to come out in 2014.

11. How can our readers get in contact with you?

Blogs:  http://debbiemanberkupfer.wordpress.com

http://paws4puzzles.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DebbieManberKupferAuthor?ref=hl

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CiciCat42

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Debbie-Manber-Kupfer/e/B00DHPNJ5I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7142164.Debbie_Manber_Kupfer

2 Comments

Filed under Author spotlight

2 responses to “Author Spotlight- Debbie Manber Kupfer author of P.A.W.S.

  1. Thanks for having me Julie – it was a lot of fun!

  2. Reblogged this on Paws4Thought and commented:
    I was interviewed by author and rock singer Julie Young.

Leave a Reply

