Author spotlight and GIVEAWAY from Jim Cangany, author of FALLEN STAR

Today, I present to you Jim Cangany. I met Jim ages ago when we were in a musical together but only recently reconnected when I learned that he had a new book out. Come to find out we were kindred spirits in the stories we wrote and I am thrilled to introduce him to my readers as not only a fellow author, but a friend. Today, Jim has offered a $10 Amazon gift card to one lucky respondent to this posting so be sure to leave a reply in order to have a chance to win! Also…be sure to get a copy of this book. I have a thing for rock stars on the run! 🙂

Fallen Star     Fallen Star (Uncial Press ISBN: 978-1-60174-163-9)

1. Tell our audience a little about yourself: Like you Julie, I’m an Indianapolis native. My wife, Nancy, and I have been married almost 23 years and we have two sons. The older is 17 and the younger is 12. When I’m not writing, I love following bicycle racing and college basketball.

2. Tell us a little about your latest release: Fallen Star is the first installment of the North Star Trilogy. It’s a sweet, contemporary romance that asks what might happen if you met a mysterious stranger on a cross country vacation.

3. What was the inspiration behind the story? I’ve had the basic story idea in my head since I was in college, but didn’t act upon it until a few years ago.  My wife was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2009 and when she successfully completed treatment, we decided life’s too precious to spend it asking what if. Instead we decided to embrace things we’d always wanted to do. Nancy became a huge booster of Butler University’s women’s basketball team and I started writing.

4. How long did it take you to write it? I started writing Fallen Star in September 2011 and finished the first draft in six weeks. It took a lot longer to get it to a finished product, though. It wasn’t until the following July that I started submitting it to agents and publishers.

5. How long did it take you to find your publisher/agent? In the grand scheme of things, not long. I signed with Uncial Press on October 6, 2012, almost three months after I started the submission process. That was an angst-filled period of time, though.

6. How are you marketing the book? As an author who is signed with a small press, most of the marketing and promotion is on me. I have a website and am active on Faceboook and Twitter. I also do a lot of blog visits, like this one.

7. Did you always know you wanted to write? Actually, yes. I’ve dabbled in it over the years, but it wasn’t until a few years ago that I made the commitment to get serious about it.

8. Do you have a traditional “day job” or are you a full time writer? I have a day job…for now. My goal is to write full-time, hopefully sooner rather than later.

9. Who are some of your favorite authors? There’s you of course. I mean come on. You wrote about the Irvington neighborhood, where I grew up and the personalities of Channel 4, who I grew up watching. I also love Alex Bledsoe, the fantasy author who writes the Tufa novels and Firefly Witch stories. John Green is fabulous and from Indianapolis, as well. And for the record, I do read quite a lot of romance novels, but I don’t want to name anybody in particular because there are too many romance authors I like.

10. What’s next for you? Book two in the North Star Trilogy, Lucky Star, comes out February 14–Valentine’s Day–the perfect day for a romance. The final story, Wish Upon a Star, will be out in October, 2014.

12. How can our readers get in contact with you? You can find me at:

My website: www.jimcangany.com

Twitter: @jimcangany

Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Jim-Cangany-Author/193385657452953

Or you can always shoot me an email at: jim.cangany@yahoo.com

What others are saying about Jim Cangany:

“‘Fallen Star’ is the first book in a contemporary romance trilogy that follows main characters E.J. McCarty and Annie Wilson as their lives are thrown together during a train ride across the country. The characters of E.J. and Annie are realistic – they both have strengths and weaknesses – that make them easy to identify with throughout the book. I enjoyed watching their characters get to know each other and to see how their relationship would grow in the book. The setting is a perfect one for this type of book – what is the best way to get two characters who might never have met in other circumstances together? Put them somewhere where there’s no escape – like a cross country train ride. It’s not a completely original idea, but I did enjoy the descriptions of the scenery and the way the characters acted with one another. There’s the obvious and a bit cliched issue of one of the characters have issues with trust or having walls put up to protect themselves from getting hurt – it seems to be a recurring theme with romances like this – and I did get a bit bored with it at times. The author included more to the story than just the romance factor – it deals with issues like trust, failure, hope, love, faith, and family – among other things. I felt that these deeper topics gave the book a more layered story line and made it more interesting for me as a reader. Overall, this is a good contemporary romance with heart that fans of the genre will enjoy reading.” -Stephanie Ward Amazon.com

“What a treat to read a romance from a male author who’s captured this love story with grace and charm. Fallen Star is a beautiful story as EJ and Annie fall in love on a cross-country trek on a train. I’m looking forward to more books in this series from Jim Cangany–a most romantic man!” Nan Reinhardt on Amazon.com

“If you like to fall in love with the characters in a book, then Fallen Star is for you! Cangany is a master at creating characters who are so real, you expect to meet them on the street.
Fallen Star is a delightful mix of romance, nostalgia, adventure, and a touch of mystery. The main character, E.J., grabs the reader’s interest from the start. As he begins his traveling adventure and works through his grief to find a surprising new love, it’s a pleasure to cheer him on.
The story line is so smooth, it’s hard to believe this is a debut book. I’m looking forward to more from this author.” -Brenda Maxfield on amazon.com

6 Comments

Filed under Author spotlight

6 responses to “Author spotlight and GIVEAWAY from Jim Cangany, author of FALLEN STAR

  1. Nice interview Julie and Jim. I’m a breast cancer survivor myself and I know how life changing that experience is and it changes the priorities for everyone in the family. I wish you the best of luck with Fallen Star.

  2. Thanks for letting me hang out and talk books with you, Julie! Always great to visit.

Leave a Reply

