Author Spotlight: Robin Tidwell author of RECYCLED

Today I am pleased to begin out author spotlight series with  Robin Tidwell, author of RECYCLED and owner of Rocking Horse Publishing. She is a wonderfully funny person and a talented writer who I am sure you will enjoy getting to know. Be sure to check out her works and let us know what you think!

RECYCLEDEcover    Recycled By Robin Tidwell (Rocking Horse Publishing ISBN: 978-0989568524)

1. Tell our audience a little about yourself: I’m married, with five kids and three grandkids. I’ll be turning 50 this year – yikes! And I could really stand to have longer days to have time to accomplish everything I want to do this year – and beyond!

2. Tell us a little about your latest release: The “latest” is RECYCLED, third in the Reduced series. It came out last July and continues Abby’s story of survival. The setting moved from St. Louis and surrounding areas up into Chicago . . . the headquarters of the new government.

3. What was the inspiration behind the story? The inspiration behind RECYCLED was merely a continuation of the story begun in Reduced, back by popular demand. So to speak. Seems I have fans. Well, a handful, anyway . . . The whole thing actually started in February 2012 when I had a late night craving for chips and salsa, which led to a rather bizarre dream…

4. How long did it take you to write it? REDUCED took six months – started off with a bang, and then life got in the way for a few months; REUSED took four weeks, and RECYCLED, three. I have a bad habit of announcing my release dates a wee bit ahead of the game.

5. How long did it take you to find your publisher/agent? I see her every morning when I look in the mirror. She’s pretty haggard at that hour, but, well, you take what you can get!

6. How are you marketing the book? Social media, worldwide distribution, website, reader groups, blogging, etc., etc. And of course, our bookstore, All on the Same Page.

7. Did you always know you wanted to write? Oh, yes. As a child, I scribbled and drew pictures and stapled paper together to make “books.”

8. Do you have a traditional “day job” or are you a full time writer? Ha! Yes, day job – of a sort. I already mentioned out bookstore, and I own a publishing house as well, Rocking Horse Publishing.

9. Who are some of your favorite authors? Margaret Mitchell, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and many others. And of course, all our authors at RHP!

10. What’s next for you? A fourth book in the Reduced series will be out this year, as well as an expanded and updated version of my marketing E-book, So You Wrote a Book: Now What? More than likely, my epic novel in the family friction genre will not be completed until 2015.

11. What made you start Rocking Horse Publishing and what titles are you looking forward to in the near future? I’d turned down a contract offer with a small press in August 2012 and self-pubbed my first book. By October, I was really procrastinating writing the second one, even though it was due out in December. So I thought, gee, what ELSE could I do to avoid working on this manuscript? Oh, I know! I’ll start a publishing house!

So I did. Then I put out a call for submissions. Seventeen authors and thirteen books later, here we are. I’m very excited about our 2014 line-up!

 12. How can our readers get in contact with you? Oh, I’m everywhere! Best way, really, is to email me at Robin@RobinTidwell.com

What others are saying about Robin Tidwell:

“Couldn’t put it down! It’s hard to pin point what part I liked best! I honestly think that while the sadness of loss is there, it really shines in hope in the bravery and stamina of the human spirit.” -Shelly Zierler on Amazon.com

“RECYCLED, the third book in a series by Robin Tidwell continues the story of Abby & friends from the St. Louis area camp in REDUCED to the outskirts in the caves under the city in REUSED to the rural farmlands of Illinois and making their way to the City of Chicago, the “new” government capitol. Tired of hiding for years from the dictatorship, the characters in RECYCLED are determined to stop the new government and get back their freedoms and liberties. They discover other groups of survivors taking shelter in the underground subway system. With a new strain of the deadly government-created virus, VADER on their minds, they combine their forces and form a plan that could end in certain death..but for whom? RECYCLED is exciting and chilling tale of ‘it could happen tomorrow’. Two questions remain: Who created VADER, and why? Questions that must eventually be answered…. ;-)” -Alison on Amazon.com

2 Comments

Filed under Author spotlight

2 responses to “Author Spotlight: Robin Tidwell author of RECYCLED

  1. Evelyn Sciarratta

    Hi Robin I am so sorry to hear about your closing of your bookstore. I will pray that something greater will come along to show for all your hard work. If you are still in the bookstore I can pick my novels up today. You can email me at evelyns@greendalemanor.com. Or you can call me directly at 314-398-8145. Sincerely Evelyn

  2. Thanks, Julie! How did I not see this for three days??

Leave a Reply

