Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It: A tribute to Junie B. Jones

Junie        I discovered Barbara Parks’ irreverent kindergardener when my own son was five-years-old. Not since Fudge Hatcher has any literary character made me laugh as much and I quickly devoured every book that featured the plucky Junie B. Jones whose middle name stood for Beatrice “but I don’t like Beatrice, I just like B. and that’s all.”

Just last week I was reading “Turkeys We Have Loved (and Eaten)” the last Junie B. book Parks wrote before her passing, to my son. Though he is 16 now, we still enjoy sharing books together and he loves the over-the-top way I do Junie’s voice. Needless to say, we were both distraught to learn of Parks’ passing this morning and I suspect that we will spend at least part of the day revisiting our favorite Junie B. Jones stories including: Aloha-ha-ha, Junie B. Has a Peep in Her Pocket, Boss of Lunch and One-Man-Band. 

If you’ve yet to enjoy Junie B. Jones, I highly suggest that you do so at your earliest convenience. Not only will you introduce yourself to a timeless character, but you will treat yourself to a belly laugh that everyone needs more of.

Buy It and Borrow It

RIP Barbara Parks…thanks for the stories…and that’s all.

1 Comment

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

One response to “Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It: A tribute to Junie B. Jones

  1. Reblogged this on Paws4Thought and commented:
    RIP Barbara Park

Leave a Reply

