Fabulous Fridays- My favorite banned books

In honor of Banned Books Week…here are some of my favorites that have been banned at one time or another.

mockingbird   To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee-Hands down, one of the best books to have ever been written and one that I could read over and over again. I am always astonished by the fact that it has been banned in schools due to the racial content and profanity. Ironically, it was required reading in my high school days. I love the book. I love the movie. Truly an American Classic.

 

huck finn     The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain– Similar to TKAM in terms of why it was banned, this is the satirist’s best work as far as I am concerned. Growing up, I wanted nothing more than to sail down the Mississippi on a raft, to find myself in the middle of two feuding families, to have adventures with two con men known as the Duke and the Dauphin and eventually find myself reunited with my best friend Tom Sawyer.

deenie     Deenie by Judy Blume-What would I have done without Judy Blume in my life as a young girl? Little did I know what a hot bed of problems befell this story when it was first published. I read it under the belief that it was the story of a young girl with a spinal condition…little did I know that there were enlightening details under the surface about the kinds of thing Deenie was doing in the privacy of her bedroom and in the bathroom that caused her concern and made her wonder if she could go blind from it.

 

AreYouThereGod_5x5     Are You There God It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume-I did not know that this book had been banned and to be honest, I don’t see why. This was the book that changed EVERYTHING for me. I fell in love with the written word over this book. I felt like I knew this character of Margaret whose parents were of two different religions and who worried that she wouldn’t develop the right way. Blows my mind that something so beautiful could have been banned.

mice and men     Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck– This book is so sad, but so beautiful and had it not been required reading in school, I probably never would have picked it up. I always love to see a kid looking all despondent about the story of the unlikely friendship between Lenny and George and telling them that they will love it in the end. “It’s only six chapters,” I tell them. “Stick with it and I promise you, you will thank me in the end.”

So that’s my list of favorite banned books…what is on your list?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fabulous Fridays

Leave a Reply

