Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It- Blue Plate Special By Michelle Kwasney

I must confess that I had no intention of reading this book. I picked it up, read the flap and  when I learned that it was about three seemingly unconnected girls, I was ready to say “no thanks.”  I’ve never been a big fan of multi-perspective books and I was convinced that Blue Plate Special  would be no different.

I was wrong. Dead wrong.

It’s difficult to explain this book without giving any spoilers but I want future readers to experience this volume the way the author intended. It is told by three girls in three different decades who live very difficult and yet, oddly similar lives. All three have to deal with difficult subject matter and it won’t take long for the reader to feel invested in these three lives. Two tell their stories in traditional prose while one writes in more of a poetic style without much attention to grammar and capitalization.

I won’t lie, for a while I was a bit confused. You know that feeling when you are reading a book and you “think” you have it figured out only to find out later that you missed something big? That will happen in this book and when it does, I really hope you have a few hours to kill because you will NOT want to put it down! No wonder Blue Plate Special won so many awards! It is truly a great story that will steal a part of your soul. If you are looking for a great title to buy, this is it. If you pass it in the library, borrow it…but don’t miss out on this fantastic book!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Buy It, Borrow It or Bag It

Leave a Reply

